Iowa's Mt. Rushmore of Sports

ESPN reviewed the submissions and discussions on your state/region's conversation page. The four figures on Iowa's Sports Rushmore are below:

Bob Feller (Van Meter) -
The eight-time All-Star finished his Hall of Fame career with 266 career wins.

Dan Gable (Waterloo, Iowa State Cyclones, Iowa Hawkeyes) -
The 1972 Olympic gold medalist finished his wrestling career at Iowa State with an 118-1 record and then went on to coach Iowa to 15 NCAA titles.

Nile Kinnick (Iowa Hawkeyes) -
The namesake of the University of Iowa's football stadium won the 1939 Heisman Trophy and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Kurt Warner (Cedar Rapids, Northern Iowa Panthers) -
The two-time NFL MVP was the Super Bowl XXXIV MVP and is a three-time Pro Bowler.

Other standouts (even more nominees in conversation)

Jay Berwanger (Dubuque)
- Won first-ever Heisman Trophy in 1935

Tom Brands (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- 3-time NCAA Champion wrestler, 1993 World Champion and 1996 Olympic gold medalist

Roger Craig (Davenport)
- 3-time Super Bowl winner, 4-time Pro Bowler

Tom Davis (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- Most successful basketball coach in University of Iowa history

Tim Dwight (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- Holds Iowa record for career receiving yards and receiving TDs

Hayden Fry (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- Most successful football coach in U. of Iowa history

Bruce Jenner (Graceland University)
- Won decathlon at 1976 Olympics

Shawn Johnson (West Des Moines)
- Gymnast won 4 medals (1 gold and 3 silver) at 2008 Olympics

Zach Johnson (Cedar Rapids, Drake Bulldogs)
- Won 2007 Masters, 4-time PGA TOUR winner

Elmer Layden (Davenport)
- Former NFL Commissioner and Notre Dame head football coach

Chuck Long (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- Finished 2nd in 1985 Heisman voting to Bo Jackson

Cael Sanderson (Iowa State Cyclones)
- 4-time national wrestling champion, Olympic gold medalist, undefeated at ISU (159-0)

Jim Zalesky (Iowa Hawkeyes)
- Won 3 NCAA wrestling titles, succeeded Dan Gable as Iowa wrestling coach