oLARRY wins inaugural ESPY for best esports moment

Michelle Farsi/NBAE via Getty Images

Timothy "oLARRY" Anselimo won the inaugural award for Esports Moment of the Year at the ESPYS. The award was presented on the red carpet by Maria Taylor prior to the start of the awards show Wednesday.

The NBA 2K player was shot last year at a Madden tournament in Jacksonville, Florida. Two bullets ripped into oLARRY's hand, and he had to have his thumb reconstructed. He returned to the NBA 2K League this year using a modified grip on his controller and is one of the best players in the league.

In winning the award, oLARRY beat Fortnite superstar Tyler "Ninja" Blevins, who alongside Marshmello was in contention for best moment after winning the Fortnite E3 Pro-Am in 2018. The winner was determined via a fan vote that began two weeks ago on ESPN Esports' Twitter page that narrowed down the field of 16. Over 230,000 votes were cast in the final vote, which was conducted both through Twitter and another online poll.

Wednesday marks the 27th edition of the ESPYS, which can be seen on ABC and streaming live on the ESPN app starting at 8 p.m. ET.