2017 grand prix tyre compound selections

A comparison between the thicker 2017 tyres and their 2016 predecessors Pirelli

The F1 regulations allow Pirelli to select three tyre compounds for each race, a popular tweak to the rules in 2016 which opened up strategy options for each race weekend. That practice will continue into 2017 with Pirelli's thicker, wider rubber which was tested extensively last year.

Tyre selections are announced over a month before each event, with rules stating Pirelli must compounds nine weeks before a European round and 15 weeks before a long-haul event. Drivers ordinarily select 10 of the 13 sets available for a race weekend, though Pirelli's new tyres means the Italian company will force each driver to stick to the same allocations for the first five races as it learns about the new tyre.

That means for the opening five races, drivers will have seven of the softest compound, four of the middle compound and two of the hardest compound available. Pirelli has backup compounds for introduction later in the season if its initial batch proves to be too conservative in terms of performance or leads to greater levels of degradation than expected.

Confirmed selections:

Australia: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

China: Medium, soft, super-soft

Bahrain: Medium, soft, super-soft

Russia: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Spain: Hard, medium, soft

Monaco: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Canada: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Azerbaijan: Medium, soft, super-soft

Austria: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Great Britain: Medium, soft, super-soft

Hungary: Medium, soft, super-soft

Belgium: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Italy: Medium, soft, ultra-soft

Singapore: Soft, super-soft, ultra-soft

Malaysia: Medium, soft, super-soft

Japan: TBC


Mexico: TBC

Brazil: TBC

Abu Dhabi: TBC