St. Andrews' Champions Challenge set

Tiger Woods will be joined by Nick Faldo and Mark Calcavecchia and captained by five-time champion Peter Thomson in the Champions Challenge competition next week at St. Andrews on the eve of the 150th anniversary Open Championship.

The competition will pit groups of three or four players who will play the first, second, 17th and 18th holes of the Old Course in a best-ball format on July 14.

Thomson, 80, who will not play due to health reasons, was the only player in the 20th century to win the Open three straight times. He won at St. Andrews in 1955.

The group will go off second, following one with captain Roberto DiVenzo, Ben Curtis, Tom Lehman and Sandy Lyle.

Following the Woods group will be one that includes captain Arnold Palmer, Ian Baker-Finch, Mark O'Meara and defending Open champion Stewart Cink.

Other captains are Gary Player, Bob Charles, Lee Trevino, and Tom Weiskopf. Among other past champions participating are Greg Norman, Tom Watson, John Daly and Padraig Harrington. The event will be televised live by ESPN.

The winning team will receive approximately $75,000 to donate to charity.

Here are the teams and tee times:
(Captains in bold)

3:40 p.m. (10:40 a.m. ET)
Roberto de Vicenzo
Ben Curtis
Tom Lehman
Sandy Lyle

3:52 p.m.
Peter Thomson
Mark Calcavecchia
Nick Faldo
Tiger Woods

4:04 p.m.
Arnold Palmer
Ian Baker-Finch
Stewart Cink
Mark O'Meara

4:16 p.m.
Gary Player
Todd Hamilton
Justin Leonard
Greg Norman

4:28 p.m.
Bob Charles
John Daly
David Duval
Bill Rogers

4:40 p.m.
Lee Trevino
Padraig Harrington
Tony Jacklin
Paul Lawrie

4:52 p.m.
Tom Weiskopf
Ernie Els
Tom Watson

Bob Harig is the golf writer for ESPN.com.