Alternate Shot: Statute of limitations?

Every sport has its rules, but only golf has Rules. The seemingly endless Rules of Golf is chock full of anything and everything that can happen on a golf course -- and, probably, some things that never have and never will.

It's a work in progress, this rulebook; 111 Rules were added, altered or deleted by the USGA and R&A, golf's official governing bodies.

When Michelle Wie took an illegal drop in the third round of this weekend's Samsung World Championship, surely it was a breach of conduct and cause for disqualification upon signing an incorrect scorecard. But it still seems fishy that Wie was DQ'd after the next day's round -- more than 29 holes and 24 hours later.

Which brings up the question: Should there be a statute of limitations on the Rules? ESPN.com's Bob Harig and Golf World's Ron Sirak argue their sides in this week's version of Alternate Shot.

Subscribe to:

Golf Digest