Jim Furyk is PGA Player of the Year

Jim Furyk, a three-time winner on tour this year, edged Ryder Cup teammates Matt Kuchar and Steve Stricker in being named PGA Player of the Year on Monday.

Furyk collected 60 points, 10 more than both Kuchar and Stricker. Ernie Els (46) and Phil Mickelson (42) rounded out the top five.

The breakdown of Furyk's winning points total: 30 for capturing the Transitions Championship, Verizon Heritage and Tour Championship; 18 for ranking second on the money list; and 12 for finishing fifth (69.83) in the adjusted scoring average list.

Kuchar, who won the season money title, held on to a slim lead over the past month to capture his first Vardon Trophy in the tightest race in years. He completed 97 rounds, posting a 69.61 adjusted scoring average, which was .05 lower than Stricker (69.66). Paul Casey and Retief Goosen shared third at 69.72.