Graeme McDowell leads GWAA awards

U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell, who scored the decisive point in Europe's dramatic Ryder Cup victory over the United States, was named Friday as the Golf Writers Association of America's player of the year.

Taiwan's Yani Tseng captured the female player of the hear honor, with the senior version going to Germany's Bernhard Langer. Both players won two major championships on their respective tours in 2010.

All three will be honored on April 6, 2011 at the GWAA's Annual Awards Dinner in Augusta, Ga., on the eve of the Masters.

McDowell, 30, who is from Northern Ireland, captured the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach over the likes of Ernie Els, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods. He also won the Celtic Manor Wales Open and Andalucia Masters on the European Tour. (Although the victory was unofficial, McDowell also defeated Woods in a playoff to capture the Chevron World Challenge).

And when the Ryder Cup came down to the 12th and final match at Celtic Manor in Wales, McDowell holed a birdie putt on the 16th hole and then went on to defeat American Hunter Mahan to earn the point necessary to regain the Cup.

In the closest race, McDowell received 43 percent of the vote (87 votes) to 32 percent for Jim Furyk (61), who won three times on the PGA Tour and the FedEx Cup. Germany's Martin Kaymer, who won four times on the European Tour including the PGA Championship, finished third.

Tseng won two LPGA majors -- the Kraft Nabisco and the Women's British Open -- in a three-win season that saw her finish fourth n the money list. She finished ahead of Cristie Kerr and Ai Miyazato.

Langer won back-to-back majors on the Champions Tour at the Senior British Open and U.S. Senior Open. He won five times total and led the money list and captured the season-long Charles Schwab Cup.

Bog Harig is a golf writer for ESPN.com.