<
>

PGA apologizes for wrong pin placement during 2nd round at Baltusrol

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. -- Another major championship, another major controversy.

Unlike the U.S. Open and U.S. Women's Open, where controversy surrounded contenders on Sunday afternoon, Friday morning's strangeness occurred with the first group of the day off the 10th tee.

According to a statement released by the PGA of America: "The second round hole location sheet provided to Group 14 -- the first group of the day to play from Tee No. 10 -- listed the hole location as being on the left side of the green (20 paces from the front of the green and four paces from the left edge of the green).

"In error, the hole was actually cut and positioned on the right side of the green (19 paces from the front of the green and five paces from the right edge of the green). The PGA of America Rules Committee did not notice the hole had been cut in the incorrect location until after each member of Group 14 had hit his second shot to the green. The hole location played by Group 14 was provided a revised hole location sheet to all subsequent groups, meaning all groups today are playing this same hole location," the statement said.

In that first group, Colt Knost made bogey using the incorrect pin sheet. He wound up posting 73 for a two-round total of 2 over, which might ultimately leave him 1 stroke shy of making the cut.

Knost tweeted after his round: "PGA trying its hardest to trump the USGA."

The statement from the PGA continued: "PGA Chief Championships Officer Kerry Haigh met with the players in Group 14 (Colt Knost, Joe Summerhays and Yuta Ikeda) after they signed their cards to offer an explanation, express his disappointment and apologize to them."