Silly-season event adjusts format

The Franklin Templeton Shootout will use a new format for this year's silly-season event, the tournament announced Tuesday.

On Thursday of tournament week, the 12 two-man teams will play a scramble, then a modified alternate shot format Friday before concluding with better ball Saturday.

Greg Norman, who hosts the event and finished tied for eighth last year with teammate Jonas Blixt, will not be playing this year due to his TV announcing duties Saturday, tournament organizers announced. He will, however, be playing in two pro-ams prior to the tournament despite suffering a grisly injury in September when a chainsaw nearly took off his left hand.

Harris English and Matt Kuchar return to defend their title for the $3.1 million event that will be held Dec. 11-13.

The other 11 teams teeing it up at Tiburón Golf Club in Naples, Florida, include: Graeme McDowell and Gary Woodland; Keegan Bradley and Camilo Villegas; Billy Horschel and Ian Poulter; Jason Day and Cameron Tringale; Chris Kirk and Brandt Snedeker; Ryan Palmer and Jimmy Walker; Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker; Sean O'Hair and Kenny Perry; Retief Goosen and Mike Weir; Charles Howell III and Scott Verplank; and Justin Leonard and Rory Sabbatini.