Jose Manuel Lara disqualified

PULHEIM, Germany -- Jose Manuel Lara has been disqualified from the BMW International Open after the Spaniard's caddie attempted to hide having an extra club in his bag for the first round.

Realizing on the second hole that Lara was using 15 clubs for Thursday's round at the Gut Larcenhof course in Pulheim, the caddie tried to hide the extra club in some bushes.

Lara thought the caddie had taken a diversion for a "call of nature," but his playing partners, Damien McGrane and Peter Hedblom, became suspicious. The caddie then admitted to Lara that there had been 15 clubs in the bag.

John Paramor, chief referee of the European Tour, told Lara he was disqualified from the $2.5 million tournament because a player is responsible for his caddie's actions.