Graeme McDowell seeks repeat

Tiger Woods will be joined by defending champion Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood, Ernie Els and PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner at the annual 18-player tournament that benefits his foundation.

Now called the Northwestern Mutual World Challenge, the tournament is Dec. 5-8 at Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks, Calif. Woods has won the event five times, including 2011 by a stroke over Zach Johnson, who also returns.

Also scheduled to compete in the $3.5 million tournament is Ian Poulter, Jason Day, Steve Stricker, Bubba Watson, Hunter Mahan, Nick Watney, Matt Kuchar, Brandt Snedeker, Jim Furyk and Keegan Bradley.

Two sponsor exemptions will be added at a later date.

The tournament invites players based on the Official World Ranking and, while it is unofficial on the PGA Tour, players can earn world ranking points. The winner receives $1 million.

Woods, who is playing in this week's Presidents Cup, has just one other event prior to the World Challenge, a European Tour event in Turkey.