Hall, Cain win motorsports awards

Andy Hall wins 2017 Jim Chapman Award for excellence in motorsports PR

Andy Hall, a veteran publicist who has worked for NASCAR and IndyCar and currently ESPN, Friday was announced as winner of the 2017 Jim Chapman Award for excellence in motorsports public relations.

The Chapman Award is considered by many in the industry as the highest honor in racing public relations. It is named in memory of Chapman, the legendary PR executive and innovator, who worked with Babe Ruth and was named Indy Car racing's "most influential man" of the 1980s. Chapman died in 1996 at age 80.

The announcement and presentation were made at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway by Michael Knight, chairman of the selection committee, and one of Chapman's closest friends. The award is determined by a vote of national media members, most of who knew Chapman, and is authorized by the Chapman family. PR representatives from all forms of motorsports are eligible for consideration.

"The respect Andy has earned with journalists covering many different racing series over many years makes him a very deserving recipient of an award named for Mr. Chapman," said Knight.

The Chapman Award has three major purposes: 1. To honor Chapman's unmatched legacy; 2. To recognize current PR practitioners who work to Chapman's standard and in his spirit; 3. To provide inspiration for newer and future PR representatives.

Hall, a graduate of James Madison University, joined ESPN's communications department in September 2006, just prior to the network's return to live NASCAR race coverage that ran from 2007-2014. He was part of a team that received several prestigious communications industry awards for the network's NASCAR launch campaign. In addition to NASCAR, Hall also has worked on PR for ESPN and ABC's IndyCar series coverage, which continues today, and its current IHRA and former NHRA drag racing coverage.

After two years as a newspaper sportswriter in Virginia, Hall began his motorsports PR career in 1982 as a NASCAR PR assistant, first on the then-entitled Busch Series and national short track program. He was named director in 1994. In 1998, he joined the Indy Racing League, focusing on marketing and administration. He returned to PR in late 2000 and spent part of five seasons as head of communications for the former American Le Mans Series. From 2005 until he joined ESPN, he did contract PR work for clients including ESPN, BASS and Dodge. In addition to his work with ESPN's motorsports coverage, Hall also works with SportsCenter, Outside the Lines, E:60 and ESPN news platforms and handles PR for the network's golf coverage.

Established in 1991 by media and publicists within the CART series, the Chapman Award originally focused on achievement in CART. After a hiatus of several years, the award was resumed in 2004, with eligibility expanded to anyone working in racing PR.


1991 - Michael Knight; 1992 - Tom Blattler; 1993-94 - Deke Houlgate and Hank Ives; 1995 - Kathi Lauterbach; 1996 - Marc Spiegel; 1997 - Mike Zizzo; 1998 - Tamy Valkosky; 1999 -- Carol Wilkins; 2000-2003 - (Award not presented); 2004 - Doug Stokes; 2005 - Susan Arnold; 2006 - Kevin Kennedy; 2007 - Dave Densmore and Bob Carlson; 2008 - Judy Stropus; 2009 - (Award not presented); 2010 -- Jim Hunter; 2011 -- Bill York; 2012 -- Judy Kouba Dominick and Nancy Wager; 2013 -- Anne Fornoro; 2014 -- Jon Edwards and Elon Werner; 2015 -- Linda Vaughn (honorary); 2015 -- David Ferroni; 2016 -- T.E. McHale and Dan Layton; 2017 -- Andy Hall

-- PR --

Holly Cain 2017 recipient of Bob Russ Founders Award

Holly Cain, who has been a respected motorsports journalist for more than 25 years and shown courage and provided inspiration in the face of personal adversity, Friday was honored with the Bob Russo Founders Award for dedication to auto racing.

Cain currently writes for NASCAR.com .

The award was presented to Cain by Russo Award Chairman Bill Marvel, Russo's longtime friend and 2011 honoree, in a ceremony in the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's media center.

Russo, the much-admired and honored motorsports journalist/publicist/historian, founded the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association in 1955. Russo helped racing gain early national media attention in the 1950s via his stories in Speed Age magazine. He consulted IMS owner Tony Hulman on the future direction of the sport when AAA stopped sanctioning races, which led to the formation of the U.S. Auto Club.

The Russo Award, as stated on the plaque, is presented "to an individual who has demonstrated profound interest, tireless efforts and undying dedication to auto racing as exemplified by Russo throughout his lifelong career."

Cain's career includes award-winning tenures at the Tampa Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer and Dallas Morning News. She also wrote for AOL Fanhouse and FoxSports.com and authored the book Rusty's Last Call, on driver Rusty Wallace's last NASCAR season. She has been a NASCAR.com senior writer since 2012.

Cain has earned numerous journalism honors, including awards from the Associated Press Sports Editors and Society of Professional Journalists.

Cain was diagnosed with breast cancer in July 2014 and has written candidly about her experiences battling the disease. She also speaks to public groups and helps in cancer research fundraising activities. Despite her illness, Cain has continued with insightful motorsports coverage, and in 2015 won the NMPA's Spirit Award in recognition of her positive attitude and achievement in the face of adversity.

Cain is the first female to win the Russo Award on an individual basis.

Previous Russo Award winners include: 2005 - Michael Knight; 2006 - Wally Parks; 2007 - Chris Economaki; 2008 - Bob Jenkins; 2009 - Shav Glick; 2010 -- Bill York; 2011 -- Bill Marvel; 2012 -- Paul Page; 2013 -- The Hulman-George and France Families; 2014 -- Donald Davidson; 2015 -- Dick Jordan; 2016 -- Dan Luginbuhl. A permanent plaque with all winners' names is on display in the Speedway media center.

-- PR --