Martinsville Recap From ESPN Research

Some news, facts and stats from the FirstData 500 MENCS Race at Martinsville:

- Kyle Busch: clinches spot in Championship Race at Homestead
- Busch: first driver to win with last-lap pass at Martinsville since Darrell Waltrip in 1987
- Busch: 5th win this season (matches total from 2015 championship and 2nd most in his career behind 8 in 2008)
- Busch: 3rd win in 2017 playoffs; had 2 career playoff wins entering season (only 1 as a playoff driver; his 2015 win at Homestead to clinch championship)
- Busch: 43rd career win; 1 shy of Bill Elliott for 16th all-time
- Busch: 5th straight top-5 finish at Martinsville (2nd win in span); had 8 top 5s in first 20 Martinsville races
- Martin Truex Jr.: finished 2nd; 16th top-5 finish this year is twice as many as he's had in any other season in MENCS career
- Truex Jr.: best finish in 24 career Martinsville starts (best previous finish was 5th: done twice before)
- Clint Bowyer: finished 3rd; best finish since 2nd-place finish in July Daytona race
- Brad Keselowski: finished 4th; was trying to be 1st driver to sweep both Cup races at Martinsville since Denny Hamlin in 2010
- Kevin Harvick: finished 5th; 1st top-5 finish at Martinsville in last 12 races
- Chase Elliott: finished 27th after leading with 3 laps to go; last in playoff standings, 26 points from the cutoff
- First non-restrictor plate race decided by a last-lap pass this season
- 4th straight Cup Series race with double-digit cautions; 1st time that's happened since the final 4 races of 2014

Won 3+ Playoff Races - In a Season
Wins Pts Finish
2017 Kyle Busch 3 ?
2017 Martin Truex Jr. 3 ?
2016 Jimmie Johnson 3 1st
2015 Joey Logano 3 6th
2014 Kevin Harvick 3 1st
2011 Tony Stewart 5 1st
2009 Jimmie Johnson 4 1st
2008 Jimmie Johnson 3 1st
2008 Carl Edwards 3 2nd
2007 Jimmie Johnson 4 1st
2006 Tony Stewart 3 N/A (missed playoffs)
2004 Jimmie Johnson 4 2nd

Last 2 Last-Lap Passes for Win - At Martinsville
Sept. 1987 Sunday
Winner Darrell Waltrip Kyle Busch
Passed Dale Earnhardt Denny Hamlin
MOV 1.8 sec 0.14 sec
Season champion Earnhardt ?

--- ESPN Research ---