Stewart-Haas crew chief lineup not set

Greg Zipadelli said the 2018 crew chief line up for Stewart-Haas Racing is still a work in progress.

Tony Stewart's proclaimed during the Aric Almirola press conference on Wednesday that Billy Scott and his crewmen-currently with Danica Patrick-would remain with the #10 team next season as Almirola transitions into the seat.

The former championship crew chief turned competition director for SHR told SiriusXM NASCAR Radio later in the day he's in no rush to formulate a plan.

"We haven't made those decisions yet," Zipadelli said on Dialed In with Claire B. Lang. "That was kind of the plan, but we're looking at everything right now. How do we take the people that are in house? How do we move them around? How do we make Stewart-Haas stronger?

For Zipadelli and SHR, there are still a lot of decisions to be made, particularly with the #41 team and driver Kurt Busch, who as of yet has not been re-signed by the team.

Busch's crew chief, Tony Gibson, has said for months that he's looking to get off the road, which adds another unknown to the equation. And given the tenor of the relationship between Clint Bowyer and Mike Bugawericz this season, along with the #14 team's failure to qualify for the Playoffs, a fresh start for that pair wouldn't be out of the question.

--- Motorsport ---