NASCAR Homestead Championship Recap and Notes

MENCS at Homestead
- Martin Truex Jr.: wins race and 1st career Cup Series championship at 37 years old; 6th driver in modern era (since 1972) to win 1st Cup Series title at 37 or older (4 of previous 5 haven't won another title)
- Truex Jr.: 4th driver since 1990 with 8 wins, 2,200 laps led in a season (1st since Jeff Gordon in 1996); 1st to do so and win title since Dale Earnhardt in 1990
- Truex Jr.: 1st driver to win 8 races in a season since Denny Hamlin in 2010
- Truex Jr.: 8th win this season; entered season with 7 in 405 career races
- Truex Jr.: won 7 of 11 races on 1.5-mile tracks this season
- Truex Jr.: led all drivers with 8 wins, 19 top 5s, 26 top 10s, 2,253 laps led, 9.4 Avg finish this season
- Truex Jr.: led 78 laps in race (drives car No. 78)
- Furniture Row Racing: 1st Cup Series championship (team debuted in 2005); 8 wins this season (6 before this season)

- Dale Earnhardt Jr.: finished 25th, 2 laps down in final race of final season
- Earnhardt Jr.: 1 top-5 finish, 47 laps led is worst in a full season in his career

- Kyle Busch: finished 2nd; 3rd straight year finishing in top 3 in points; before had never finished top-3 in points
- Kevin Harvick: finished 4th; finished 3rd in points (6th top-3 points finish in the last 8 seasons)
- Brad Keselowski: finished 7th; 4th-place points finish is 2nd-best of career (won title in 2012)
- Kyle Larson: finished 3rd and led 145 laps; winless in 6 career races when leading at least 120 laps (twice at Homestead)

At Least 8 Wins, 2,200 Laps Led - Single Season Since 1990
Pts Finish
2017 Martin Truex Jr. 1st
1996 Jeff Gordon 2nd
1993 Rusty Wallace 2nd
1990 Dale Earnhardt 1st

Martin Truex Jr. - NASCAR Cup Series Career
2004-15 2016-17
Races 369 72
Wins 3 12
Laps led 2,457 4,062
Best pts finish 11th 1st

Won First Championship at 37 or Older - NASCAR Cup Series Modern Era (since 1972)
Career Titles
2017 Martin Truex Jr. 37 1
2014 Kevin Harvick 38 1
1999 Dale Jarrett 42 1
1992 Alan Kulwicki 37 1
1983 Bobby Allison 45 1
1976 Cale Yarborough 37 3

--- ESPN Research & Stats ---

Race Fast Facts - Championship Fast Facts
- Martin Truex Jr has won his first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship, becoming the 32nd different series champion.
- Truex wins in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway to claim the 2017 title.
- Truex has become the third different driver to win a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship in the elimination-style format of the Playoffs; joining Kevin Harvick (2014) and Kyle Busch (2015).
- Truex joins Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Bobby Labonte and Brad Keselowski as only the fifth driver all-time to boast both Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and NASCAR XFINITY Series championships.
- In 2017, Truex has posted eight wins, 19 top fives, 26 top 10s and three poles.
- Truex (Mayetta) is the first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion from the state of New Jersey.

Owner Champion: Barney Visser, Furniture Row Racing
- This is Furniture Row Racing's first series owner championship in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.
- Furniture Row Racing¡¦s previous best championship standings finish was fourth in 2015 with driver Martin Truex Jr.
- Furniture Row Racing is the only Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series team based out of Denver, Colorado.

Crew Chief Champion: Cole Pearn
- Cole Pearn has won his first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship with driver Martin Truex Jr.
- Pearn is the 39th different Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series crew chief to win a championship.
- Pearn has posted 13 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victories; all with driver Martin Truex Jr.

--- NASCAR Integrated Sports Marketing ---