National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame members inducted

Terry Labonte and Donnie Allison were half of some of NASCAR's most famous brother combinations.

The two were inducted into the 2018 National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame along with legendary crew chiefs Buddy Parrott and "Suitcase" Jake Elder in a Sunday night ceremony.

Labonte, a two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion, was nicknamed the "Iceman" for his cool demeanor on the track. He is best known for the two most famous finishes in Bristol Motor Speedway history.

In the 1995 August Night Race, Labonte's No. 5 Chevrolet crossed the finish line first with his crashed race car after getting hit from behind by Dale Earnhardt's black No. 3 Chevy. Four years later, Earnhardt crashed Labonte on the last lap, and drove on to win the race.

Allison was part of the legendary "Alabama Gang" with his older brother Bobby, Red Farmer and Neil Bonnett.

Parrott, worked for the legendary Hyde, who was loosely portrayed by Robert Duvall in "Days of Thunder," and later served as crew chief for such drivers as Darrell Waltrip and Rusty Wallace. He was also crew chief for Richard Petty's historic 200th win at the 1984 Firecracker 400 at Daytona and for Derrike Cope's upset win in the 1990 Daytona 500.

Elder, who died in 2010, had 43 Cup Series wins as a crew chief. He was the crew chief for David Pearson's 1968 championship season, was on the pit box for Waltrip's first and last career wins, and was an early crew chief for Dale Earnhardt.

--- Johnson City Press ---

AND The accolades continue for NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series champion Martin Truex Jr., both on and off the track.

Truex was named the National Motorsports Press Association's Driver of the Year on Saturday night in Charlotte.

He and partner Sherry Pollex shared the NMPA Pocono Spirit Award for their tireless work with the Martin Truex Jr. Foundation, which raises awareness and financial support for pediatric and ovarian cancer.

--- Motorsport ---