All-NBA: LeBron, Howard unanimous

NEW YORK -- Two-time league MVP LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers and defensive player of the year Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic were unanimous selections to the All-NBA first team announced Thursday.

Joining James and Howard on the team are Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder and Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat.

James was named to the first team for the third straight season and fourth time overall, finishing second in the league in scoring (29.7 ppg) and averaging 8.6 assists, 7.3 rebounds, 1.6 steals and 1.0 blocks.

Howard, an All-NBA pick for the third consecutive season, became the first player to lead the league in rebounding (13.2 per game) and blocks (2.78) in consecutive seasons. He also paced the league in field goal percentage (.612), becoming the first player to lead the NBA in all three of those categories since the NBA started recording blocked shots.

Bryant was selected All-NBA for the fifth straight season and eighth time in his career. He finished fourth in the league in scoring (27.0 ppg), while averaging 5.4 assists and 5.0 rebounds.

Durant's selection is his first after becoming the youngest player (21 years, 197 days) to lead the league in scoring (30.1 ppg).

After being named All-NBA, Durant tweeted on Thursday, "What a great honor for me to be named 1st team all NBA...I'm so blessed man! Very humbling..gotta keep workin to be better."

Earning his second straight first-team selection, Wade was the league's fifth-leading scorer (26.5 ppg), while also averaging 6.5 assists, 4.8 rebounds and 1.8 steals. Wade joined James as the lone players to rank in the top 10 in points, assists and rebounds.

The All-NBA second team consists of Phoenix's Steve Nash and Utah's Deron Williams at guard; Denver's Carmelo Anthony and Dallas' Dirk Nowitzki at forward; and Phoenix's Amar'e Stoudemire at center.

The All-NBA third team includes Atlanta's Joe Johnson and Portland's Brandon Roy at guard; San Antonio's Tim Duncan and the Lakers' Pau Gasol at forward; and Milwaukee's Andrew Bogut at center.

The All-NBA teams were chosen by a panel of 122 sports writers and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.