Boeheim named Naismith winner

ATLANTA -- Syracuse basketball coach Jim Boeheim has been selected the Naismith college coach of the year.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club made the announcement Tuesday. Boeheim won out over finalists Steve Alford of New Mexico, John Calipari of Kentucky and Frank Martin of Kansas State.

Boeheim, who guided the Orange from unranked in the preseason to No. 1, becomes the fourth Big East coach to win the award.

He joins Ben Howland (2002) and Jamie Dixon (2009) of Pittsburgh and Jay Wright of Villanova (2006).

Syracuse went 30-5, making it to the round of 16 in the NCAA tournament before losing to eventual national runner-up Butler.

The Orange won the Big East regular-season title with a 15-3 record, lost only once on the road, and were ranked No. 1 during the season for the first time since 1989-90.