Wooden Award finalists announced

Creighton star Doug McDermott was one of 15 finalists announced Saturday for the Wooden Award.

McDermott, one of the front-runners for the award, could become a member of college basketball's 3,000-point club as early as Saturday when the Bluejays face Providence in Omaha, Neb.

McDermott, a senior, is joined by a trio of freshman stars -- Kentucky's Julius Randle, Kansas' Andrew Wiggins and Duke's Jabari Parker. The Big Ten is represented by a pair of rivals, Michigan State's Gary Harris and Michigan's Nik Stauskas.

Syracuse is the only program with two finalists, as both Tyler Ennis and C.J. Fair made the cut.

Seniors Russ Smith, Shabazz Napier, Sean Kilpatrick, Casey Prather and Cleanthony Early were also named Wooden Award finalists. Arizona's Nick Johnson is the only junior, while Kyle Anderson is one of four sophomores on the list.

The Wooden Award winner will be announced April 4.

Kansas star freshman Joel Embiid, the projected No. 1 pick in next summer's NBA draft by ESPN's Chad Ford, is not a finalist for the award after a series of injuries affected his playing time and performances in the final months of the season.

Iowa State's DeAndre Kane, San Diego State star Xavier Thames and Fred VanVleet, a semifinalist for the Naismith Award and point guard for undefeated Wichita State, are among the other notable finalists omissions.