ACC-Big Ten field announced

A mammoth matchup highlights the 16th and biggest ACC-Big Ten Challenge.

Duke at Wisconsin on Dec. 3 will pit teams ranked in the top four of the ESPN.com Way Too Early Top 25 for the 2014-15 season. The Badgers return most of their 2014 Final Four squad and the Blue Devils boast the No. 1 recruiting class.

Set for Dec. 1-3 and for broadcast on ESPN and its family of networks, the event expanded along with the conferences to 14 games.

Other potential meetings of ranked teams include Iowa at North Carolina and Syracuse at Michigan.

As familiar as it seems to see ranked teams square off in the challenge, it will be equally unfamiliar seeing a few newcomers and a new alliance. The Big Ten welcomes Rutgers and Maryland as members next season. Louisville will replace the Terrapins in the ACC.

The Cardinals will face Ohio State in Louisville, Maryland plays host to ACC rival Virginia and Rutgers makes a trip to Clemson.

ACC home games include: Michigan State at Notre Dame, Nebraska at Florida State, Minnesota at Wake Forest, Illinois at Miami. Big Ten home games include: Pittsburgh at Indiana, Georgia Tech at Northwestern, Virginia Tech at Penn State, and NC State at Purdue.

The event finished in a 6-6 tie for the second straight season in 2013-14, which moved the overall count 10-3-2 in the ACC's favor. Technically, the Big Ten holds the Commissioner's Cup because it was last to win it outright in 2011.

Boston College, which is 6-2 in challenge play, is not in the field this year.