Wisconsin picked to win Big Ten

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- Bo Ryan is accustomed to being an underdog, but that won't be the case in 2014-15.

Wisconsin was picked as the unanimous favorite to win the Big Ten championship by a media panel, the league announced at its annual media day Thursday.

The Badgers, who reached the Final Four last season, return four starters and top reserves Nigel Hayes and Bronson Koenig.

Despite losing key players Gary Harris and Adreian Payne from last season, Michigan State was picked to finish second. Ohio State was No. 3 in the poll.

Frank Kaminsky, who scored 28 points in Wisconsin's Elite Eight win over Arizona last season, was named Preseason Player of the Year.

Kaminsky was joined by teammate Sam Dekker, Indiana's Yogi Ferrell, Michigan's Caris LeVert and Nebraska's Terran Petteway as all Big Ten. Kaminsky, however, was the only unanimous selection.

Last season, Kaminsky averaged 13.9 points, 6.3 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game. He also hit 38 percent of his three-point attempts.