Indy leads Final Four repeat sites

The Final Four sites for 2017 through '21 were announced Friday, and Phoenix will host the event for the first time in '17.

The Division I men's basketball committee announced that University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale will be the western-most host venue since the 1995 Final Four at the Kingdome in Seattle.

San Antonio will host in 2018, Minneapolis will get the event in '19, Atlanta in '20 and Indianapolis -- which hosts this year -- will host again in '21.

Lucas Oil Stadium is hosting this season's Final Four, and 2021 will mark the eighth time that Indianapolis will have staged the event. That ranks second only to Kansas City, which hosted the Final Four 10 times from 1940 to '88.

San Antonio was host city three times from 1998 to 2008. Renovations are planned for the Alamodome, which will become the sixth facility to host at least four Final Fours.

Buildings currently under construction will host the 2019 and '20 Final Fours in Minneapolis and Atlanta, respectively. The other finalists for this round of Final Fours were New Orleans, North Texas and St. Louis.