ESPN to air college hoops awards

ESPN will host the first college basketball postseason awards show in which it will unveil the Wooden Award and five positional awards named after all-time greats.

The one-hour show will be held on April 10 at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2 from Los Angeles.

The program will honor the top player in the country with the Wooden Award presented by Wendy's and also include awards for the nation's top point guard (Bob Cousy Award), shooting guard (Jerry West), small forward (Julius Erving), power forward (Karl Malone) and center (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar).

The Los Angeles Athletic Club manages the Wooden Awards for men's and women's players of the year -- which will both be announced during the show -- as well as the Wooden Legends of Coaching Award, which will be given to San Diego State's Steve Fisher this year.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has presented the Bob Cousy Award since 2004 and will manage the other positional awards.

Currently, the front-runners for the Wooden Award are Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky, Duke's Jahlil Okafor, Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell and Notre Dame's Jerian Grant.

ESPN's Rece Davis will host the program with Jay Bilas and Jay Williams from Club Nokia in Los Angeles.