Bill Self wins AP Coach of the Year

Bill Self wins another AP Coach of the Year (1:10)

ESPN college basketball reporter C.L. Brown breaks down Bill Self's dominance at Kansas, leading to his second AP Coach of the Year award. (1:10)

HOUSTON -- Bill Self, who led Kansas to the No. 1 ranking in the final weekly poll and its 12th straight Big 12 title, is The Associated Press Coach of the Year.

Self was also AP Coach of the Year in 2009, becoming the eighth coach to win the award more than once. John Wooden of UCLA won it five times and other multiple winners include Bob Knight, Roy Williams, Ray Meyer and Guy Lewis.

He received 21 votes, while Xavier's Chris Mack had 15 and Dana Altman of Oregon had 13.

"I would much rather be here with my team playing," Self said. "This is great and there are dozens of people worthy of this award. But to be in that group [of multiple winners] is something I'll always respect and treasure."

The Jayhawks spent a total of five weeks at No. 1 this season and won the Big 12 for the 12th consecutive season to move within one of UCLA's record for consecutive titles. They were the overall No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament, but lost to Villanova in the regional final.

"It was a great season. I don't think you can call it a special season unless you get here," Self said. "Looking back, I don't think I could ever have a team sacrifice more or be more unselfish. It will always be one of my most special groups I've had."

Voting was done before the NCAA tournament.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.