Bill Self wins Naismith Coach of Year

Kansas coach Bill Self was named the 2012 Naismith Men's College Basketball Coach of the Year on Sunday, becoming the third different Jayhawks coach to win the honor, a first in the history of the accolade.

Self's Jayhawks will play for the national championship Monday when they play Kentucky in the NCAA tournament title game.

The other Kansas coaches to win the award, presented by the the Atlanta Tipoff Club, are Larry Brown (1988) and Roy Williams (1997).

"This is a terrific honor. When you think of postseason awards, anything that has (James)
Nasmith's name in front of it is a huge award and certainly I'm very proud of this," Self said in a statement. "It is
a reflection of how our team performed all year long. There are so many good coaches out there to choose from but I am honored they picked me."

Self edged out Syracuse's Jim Boeheim, Kentucky's John Calipari and Missouri's Frank Haith to win the award.

Haith was the recipient of The Associated Press' Coach of the Year award.

Kentucky Wildcats freshman Anthony Davis was named winner of the 2012 Naismith College Player of the Year award on Sunday night.