Sources: Big East at 10 for 2013-14

The new Big East will have only 10 members in 2013-14 and then will take an approach to future expansion, sources with knowledge of the situation told ESPN's Andy Katz.

The 10 members will be the Catholic 7 schools that left the Big East -- DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's and Villanova -- plus Butler and Xavier of the Atlantic 10 and Creighton of the Missouri Valley.

Butler, Xavier and Creighton had not officially withdrawn from the A-10 and MVC, respectively, as of Friday, sources told ESPN's Brett McMurphy. An official announcement from the Big East that Butler, Xavier and Creighton will be joining will be made next week, sources told Katz.

Multiple coaches from the new league had told ESPN.com that the new Big East would play an 18-game, true round-robin schedule in 2013-14.

The new Big East will play its tournament at Madison Square Garden and has hired a search firm to find a new commissioner. New York City is the favorite to host the league offices, sources said. The league would start playing Olympic sports, such as soccer, in August.

The seven Catholic 7 schools are departing from the Big East, but will retain the Big East name. The new Big East begins July 1, while the remaining members of the league must come up with a new conference name.

Saturday night marks the final Big East men's basketball championship before the league breaks up. The Catholic 7 will start its new league on July 1, Pittsburgh, Syracuse and Notre Dame will join the ACC on July 1, Louisville will join the ACC on July 1, 2014, and Rutgers will join the Big Ten on July 1, 2014.