Melvin Ejim honored as Big 12's best

Iowa State senior Melvin Ejim was chosen as Big 12 Player of the Year, in a vote taken by the league's coaches.

Ejim was chosen over Kansas' freshman duo of Andrew Wiggins and Joel Embiid, Cyclones teammates DeAndre Kane and Georges Niang along with preseason favorite Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State.

Ejim is the first Cyclone to win the award since Jamaal Tinsley in 2001. Iowa State finished the regular season 23-7 overall and 11-7 in Big 12 play.

Ejim was also voted The Associated Press Big 12 Player of the Year on Monday.

Ejim ranks second in the Big 12 in scoring (18.2) and rebounding (8.6). He scored in double figures in 25 of 28 games and went for a conference-record 48 points in Iowa State's win over TCU.

Wiggins, who is widely projected to be a lottery pick in this year's NBA draft, is averaging 16.8 points and 5.9 rebounds.

Ejim was joined on the All-Big 12 First Team by Wiggins, Kane, Smart and West Virginia guard Juwan Staten. Embiid earned a spot on the second team.