Jones, Edmonds both win seventh

ST. LOUIS -- Greg Maddux won his 14th Rawlings Gold Glove award
Wednesday and three members of the NL champion St. Louis Cardinals
were honored as the top-fielding players at their positions.

Maddux had won 13 in a row, a record among NL pitchers, before Atlanta's Mike Hampton replaced him in 2003. Back with the Chicago Cubs this year, Maddux is closing in on Jim Kaat's record for pitchers of 16 Gold Gloves. Brooks Robinson also won 16 Gold Gloves at third base.

Center fielder Jim Edmonds won his fifth straight Gold Glove and seventh overall (two with the Angels in 1997 and '98), third baseman Scott Rolen won his fifth in a row and sixth overall, and catcher Mike Matheny got the award for the second straight year and third time overall.

Los Angeles outfielder Steve Finley won his fifth Gold Glove,
his first since 2000, and Dodgers shortstop Cesar Izturis was the
only first-time winner, taking over from the Cardinals' Edgar Renteria.

Izturis is the first Dodgers shortstop to win the Gold Glove since Maury Wills in 1962.

Atlanta outfielder Andruw Jones won for the seventh straight
season, Colorado first baseman Todd Helton won his third award in four years and
Florida's Luis Castillo repeated at second base.

Last year, Florida's Derrek Lee won at first and San Francisco's Jose Cruz Jr. won in the outfield.

Edmonds, Finley, Matheny and Rolen each earned $50,000 bonuses,
while Castillo and Helton earned $25,000 apiece.

Gold Gloves have been presented since 1957 by Rawlings and are
voted on by managers and coaches before the end of the regular
season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they
vote only for players in their own league.

AL Gold Glove winners were announced Tuesday.

Information from The Associated Press and ESPN Research was used in this report.