Lyle, Kaat, Tiant added to list

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Gil Hodges, Tony Oliva and Ron Santo
headline the 25 candidates on the 2005 ballot for the Hall of Fame
Veterans Committee.

Sparky Lyle, Jim Kaat, Luis Tiant and Smoky Joe Wood have been
added to the ballot this year.

In its first vote two years ago, the reconstituted committee
failed to give any of the candidates the necessary 75 percent vote
needed for election.

Hodges, the former Brooklyn first baseman and New York Mets
manager, was listed on 50 ballots, falling 11 votes shy. Oliva was
second among the 26 listed players with 48 votes, followed by Santo
(46), Joe Torre (29), Maury Wills (24) and Vada Pinson (21).

Allie Reynolds (16), Ken R. Williams (eight), Bob Meusel (six),
Ted Kluszewski (four) and Mike G. Marshall (three) have been
removed from the ballot this time.

Candidates were selected by a committee selected by the Baseball
Writers' Association of America and second screening committee of
six Hall of Fame members. Results of voting will be announced March

Eighty-five people are eligible to vote, including the 60 living
Hall of Famers, 10 members of the writers wing and 14 members of
the broadcasters wing. There also is one member of the former
Veterans Committee whose term has not expired.

Under the revamped rules, the committee votes every two years
for players and every four years for a "composite" group that
includes managers, executives and umpires. The composite group will
not be voted on again until 2007 -- two years ago, when 60 votes
were needed for election on that ballot, the highest totals went to
umpire Doug Harvey (48), Dodgers owner Walter O'Malley (38) and
union head Marvin Miller (35).

Wade Boggs, Darryl Strawberry and Willie McGee are among the top
newcomers on the BBWAA's Hall of Fame ballot, and Ryne Sandberg,
Bruce Sutter, Jim Rice, Andre Dawson and Rich Gossage head the
returning players. Results of that election will be announced Jan.

Players must be retired for five years to be eligible for the
Hall, and they can appear on the BBWAA ballot for up to 15 years.
If they aren't elected, they must wait at least one year before
going on the Veterans ballot.

Winners will be inducted during ceremonies July 31.