A-Rod, Manny claim Silver Sluggers

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- The New York Yankees' Alex Rodriguez and
Boston's Manny Ramirez both won their eighth Silver Slugger Awards
on Monday, while eight of the nine members of the NL team were
first-time winners.

Los Angeles second baseman Jeff Kent, who won for the fourth
time, was the only member of the NL team to have previously won the
award. He was joined in the NL by Chicago Cubs catcher Michael
Barrett and first baseman Derrek Lee, Cincinnati shortstop Felipe
Lopez, Houston third baseman Morgan Ensberg, Atlanta outfielder
Andruw Jones, Florida outfielder Miguel Cabrera, Milwaukee
outfielder Carlos Lee and St. Louis pitcher Jason Marquis.

Winners were picked by major league managers and coaches, who
were not allowed to vote for their own players. Selections for each
position were based on a combination of offensive statistics, such
as batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as
well as impressions of a player's offensive value.

Rodriguez, who won seven Silver Sluggers at shortstop, won for
the first time at third base and was joined on the list by Yankees
outfielder Gary Sheffield, a four-time winner.

Ramirez was among three Boston players on the team, joined by
catcher Jason Varitek, a first-time winner, and designated hitter
David Ortiz, who made the list for the first time in 2004.

Texas first baseman Mark Teixeira repeated, and Rangers
shortstop Alfonso Soriano made it for the second straight year and
third time overall. Baltimore shortstop Miguel Tejada also

Ramirez won for the seventh straight season and was joined in
the outfield by Sheffield and the Los Angeles Angels' Vladimir
Guerrero, a five-time winner.

Guerrero, Derrek Lee, Ramirez, Rodriguez, Tejada and Varitek
earned bonuses of $100,000 that were part of their contracts.
Barrett earned $50,000, Ensberg $25,000 and Carlos Lee $15,000.

The awards are given annually by Hillerich & Bradsby Co., the
maker of Louisville Slugger bats.