Cubs' Maddux wins 15th Gold Glove

NEW YORK -- Chicago Cubs pitcher Greg Maddux won his 15th
Gold Glove on Wednesday, one shy of the record shared by pitcher
Jim Kaat and third baseman Brooks Robinson.

Maddux set a record for Gold Gloves won in the National League --
Kaat won 14 in the AL and two in the NL. It was the second straight
Gold Glove for Maddux and 15th in 16 seasons.

San Francisco shortstop Omar Vizquel won his 10th Gold Glove,
his first in the NL after the nine straight he earned with the
Cleveland Indians from 1993-2001.

Atlanta outfielder Andruw Jones won his eighth straight Gold
Glove and St. Louis outfielder Jim Edmonds won his eighth,
including the last six in a row.

Giants catcher Mike Matheny won his fourth overall and third

A pair of Florida infielders also were on the Gold Glove team,
with second baseman Luis Castillo winning his third straight and
third baseman Mike Lowell winning for the first time.

Cubs first baseman Derrek Lee won for the second time -- he was
on the 2003 NL Gold Glove team and was replaced by Colorado's Todd
Helton last year. Philadelphia outfielder Bobby Abreu was a
first-time winner.

Matheny and Vizquel both earned $100,000 bonuses, while Lee gets
$75,000, Abreu and Edmonds $50,000 each and Castillo and Lowell
$25,000 apiece.