Hershiser, Gooden on Hall ballot, but not Rose

NEW YORK -- Pete Rose's eligibility for the baseball writers' Hall of Fame ballot expired Monday when the 2006 candidates were announced, a group that includes Cy Young Award winners Orel Hershiser and Dwight Gooden.

Albert Belle, Will Clark and Chicago White Sox manager Ozzie Guillen were among 14 first-time candidates on the 29-man ballot. Bruce Sutter is the holdover who came closest to election, falling
43 votes shy last year.

Following an investigation of his gambling, Rose agreed in
August 1989 to a lifetime ban. The Hall's board of directors voted
unanimously in February 2001 that anyone on the permanently
ineligible list couldn't appear on the BBWAA ballot.

Rose, baseball's career hits leader, applied for reinstatement in September 1997 and met with commissioner Bud Selig in November
2002. His efforts to end his suspension appeared to falter after he admitted in his 2004 autobiography, ``Pete Rose: My Prison Without
Bars,'' that he bet on the Cincinnati Reds while managing the teams
in the late 1980s.

First-year candidates include pitchers Rick Aguilera, Alex Fernandez, Doug Jones and John Wetteland and infielders Gary DiSarcina, Gary Gaetti, Gregg Jefferies, Hal Morris and Walt Weiss.

To gain election, a player must be selected on 75 percent or
more of the ballots. Sutter was on 66.7 percent of the ballots last
year, followed by Jim Rice (59.5), Rich Gossage (55.2) and Andre
Dawson (52.3).

Gooden was the NL Rookie of the Year season in 1984 and won the Cy Young the following year after going 24-4 with a 1.53 ERA. Hershiser was the Cy Young in 1988, when he pitched a record 59
consecutive scoreless innings during the regular season, then was selected MVP of the NL championship series and the World Series.

Belle led the AL in RBI three times and finished a .295 batting
average, 381 homers and 1,239 RBI. Clark had a .303 career
average, 284 homers and 1,205 RBI.

Guillen was AL Rookie of the Year in 1985.

Reporters who have been in the BBWAA for 10 or more consecutive
years are eligible to vote, and the totals will be announced Jan.

The complete ballot:

Rick Aguilera, Albert Belle, Bert Blyleven, Will Clark, Dave
Concepcion, Andre Dawson, Gary DiSarcina, Alex Fernandez, Gary
Gaetti, Steve Garvey, Dwight Gooden, Rich Gossage, Ozzie Guillen,
Orel Hershiser, Gregg Jefferies, Tommy John, Doug Jones, Don
Mattingly, Willie McGee, Hal Morris, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave
Parker, Jim Rice, Lee Smith, Bruce Sutter, Alan Trammell, Walt
Weiss, John Wetteland.