Maddux moves past Kaat, Brooks with 17th Gold Glove

Padres pitcher Greg Maddux won his record 17th Gold Glove while
Boston first baseman Kevin Youkilis earned his first award Tuesday
for fielding excellence.

Detroit catcher Ivan Rodriguez won for the 13th time and
outfielders Andruw Jones, Ichiro Suzuki and Torii Hunter added to
their totals. The Colorado Rockies, who set a major league record
for fielding percentage, did not have a winner.

Maddux broke a tie with Baltimore third baseman Brooks Robinson
and pitcher Jim Kaat for the most Gold Gloves.

Known for his quick reflexes on the mound even at age 41, Maddux
won his first Gold Glove in 1990 with the Chicago Cubs. Since then,
the 347-game winner has taken home the honor every year except
2003, when Mike Hampton broke his streak.

"It's cool to win again," Maddux said in a release. "I'm
fortunate to still be pitching at this level and honored to be
recognized with this prestigious award."

Earlier this week, Maddux and San Diego agreed to a one-year
contract for next year.

The Gold Gloves were first awarded in 1957. Managers and coaches
vote on players in their own leagues.

Detroit second baseman Placido Polanco was among 10 first-time
winners. Polanco did not make an error this season.

Youkilis began his career as a third baseman and shifted over to
first base full-time in 2006. He did not commit an error at first
this year; he made three errors in 13 games at third base.

"You realize how much a good first baseman helps when you're at
third base," Youkilis said.

Youkilis has played an AL-record 190 straight games at first
base without an error. His streak is three short of the major
league mark set by Steve Garvey from 1983-85.

"What an accomplishment for a kid in his first year at the position and for someone who didn't come up as a first baseman," Red Sox manager Terry Francona, quoted in The Boston Globe, said. "He certainly deserves it. He's a testimony to hard work. I'll be damned. What a great job."

Youkilis did not start the final two games of Boston's sweep in
the World Series. Minus the designated hitter in Colorado, the Red
Sox started David Ortiz at the spot.

The Red Sox shifted Youkilis across the diamond after getting
third baseman Mike Lowell in a trade with Florida. The move let
Youkilis become an everyday player.

"It was a little nerve-racking in knowing I had to learn a
whole new position," Youkilis said. "For me, it was a learning

Rodriguez extended his record for catchers. Jones won his 10th
award, all with Atlanta before becoming a free agent.

Suzuki won his seventh in a row, earning the honor after
shifting from right field to center for Seattle. Hunter won his
seventh straight with Minnesota before filing for free agency.

"I am very happy for this award because it ties my
accomplishment reached in Japan of seven straight Gold Gloves,"
Suzuki said through a translator.

Among the other AL winners: Minnesota pitcher Johan Santana,
Angels shortstop Orlando Cabrera, Seattle third baseman
Adrian Beltre and Cleveland outfielder Grady Sizemore.

Other NL winners were: Dodgers catcher Russell Martin, Cubs
first baseman Derrek Lee, Arizona second baseman Orlando Hudson,
Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins, Mets third baseman
David Wright and outfielders Carlos Beltran of the Mets, Aaron Rowand of
Philadelphia and Jeff Francoeur of Atlanta.

Rowand and Francoeur tied in the voting.

The Gold Gloves are presented by Rawlings.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.