Ichiro, Wright, Rollins among Silver Slugger winners

NEW YORK -- Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins, New York
Mets third baseman David Wright and Seattle outfielder Ichiro
Suzuki won Silver Slugger awards Friday, complementing the Gold
Gloves they earned earlier this week.

Mets outfielder Carlos Beltran, Detroit second baseman Placido Polanco and Los Angeles Dodgers catcher Russell Martin also won
both awards.

The Silver Sluggers are presented by Louisville Slugger to the
best offensive players at their position in each league. Managers
and coaches vote for the awards.

Alex Rodriguez won his ninth Silver Slugger after leading the
majors with 54 home runs and 156 RBIs for the New York Yankees. He
won for the second time as a third baseman; his other seven awards
came at shortstop.

Rodriguez tied former Cincinnati shortstop Barry Larkin for the
third place on the all-time Silver Slugger win list. Barry Bonds
(12) and Mike Piazza (10) have won the most often since the awards
were first presented in 1980.

Angels outfielder Vladimir Guerrero won for the seventh time
overall and Boston designated hitter David Ortiz (.332, 35 HRs, 117
RBIs) won for the fourth straight year. Arizona pitcher Micah Owings (.333, 4, 15) won for the first time.

Other winners included: first basemen Prince Fielder of
Milwaukee and Carlos Pena of Tampa Bay, second basemen Chase Utley
of Philadelphia, shortstop Derek Jeter of the Yankees, catcher
Jorge Posada of the Yankees and outfielders Magglio Ordonez of
Detroit, Matt Holliday of Colorado and Carlos Lee of Houston.