Veterans Committee reveals 10 candidates on Hall of Fame ballot

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Joe Torre, Ron Santo and Gil Hodges are among 10 players on the latest Hall of Fame ballot for Veterans Committee voters.

Dick Allen, Jim Kaat and Luis Tiant are on the list, made up of major-leaguers whose careers began in 1943 or later. Tony Oliva, Al Oliver, Vada Pinson and Maury Wills were also were the candidates announced Tuesday.

Voting results will be announced Dec. 8 at baseball's winter meetings in Las Vegas. A player needs 75 percent to be elected -- the living 64 Hall members will vote.

Torre was a nine-time All-Star and hit .297 with 252 home runs and 1,185 RBIs in an 18-year career. He was the 1971 NL MVP.

Now managing the Los Angeles Dodgers, Torre guided the New York Yankees to four World Series championships. The Yankees made the playoffs in all 12 of Torre's seasons in the dugout.

Hall voters are allowed to combine Torre's accomplishments as a player and manager. Torre fell short in Vets panel elections in 2003, 2005 and 2007, with 45 percent his highest total.

"I don't remember getting any more hits since the last time they turned me down. But that's certainly an honor. It's nice to still be in people's memories as a player," Torre said before Tuesday night's game at Pittsburgh.

"But I don't spend any time thinking about it. This is something that's out of my control and I really haven't spent any time thinking about it. They've changed the rules so many times," he said. "I've seen players politick and lobby for it and I've just never been that guy. I may be doing it right now without knowing, but I'm really uncomfortable talking about it."

Last month, a ballot of 10 players from pre-1943 was announced: Bill Dahlen, Wes Ferrell, Joe Gordon, Sherry Magee, Carl Mays, Allie Reynolds, Vern Stephens, Mickey Vernon, Bucky Walters and Deacon White.

A 12-person panel that includes Hall of Famers Bobby Doerr, Ralph Kiner and newly elected Dick Williams will vote on the older players, with nine votes needed for election.

Induction ceremonies will be held on July 26.

Managers, umpires and executives will next be considered by the Veterans Committee in 2009.