Jeter, Bay, Utley among Silver Sluggers

St. Louis Cardinals star Albert Pujols and New York Yankees infielder Mark Teixeira, the National and American League home run leaders, were among those chosen Thursday to receive Silver Slugger awards.

The awards, instituted in 1980 to the best offensive player in each league at each position, are chosen by managers and coaches.

American League winners were first baseman Teixeira, second baseman Aaron Hill of Toronto, shortstop Derek Jeter of New York, third baseman Evan Longoria of Tampa Bay, catcher Joe Mauer of Minnesota, designated hitter Adam Lind of Toronto, and outfielders Torii Hunter of Los Angeles, Ichiro Suzuki of Seattle and Jason Bay of Boston.

In the National League, the winners were first baseman Pujols, second baseman Chase Utley of Philadelphia, shortstop Hanley Ramirez of Florida, third baseman Ryan Zimmerman of Washington, catcher Brian McCann of Atlanta, pitcher Carlos Zambrano of Chicago, and outfielders Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier of Los Angeles and Ryan Braun of Milwaukee.

Longoria, Hunter, Bay, Hill, Lind, Zimmerman, Ethier and Kemp are first-time award winners. Pujols has won five Silver Sluggers, and Jeter and Utley have each claimed four apiece.

The selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics, such as batting average, slugging percentage, on-base percentage of a player at each position.

Managers and coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their teams.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.