Houston Astros lead way with seven MLB All-Star finalists

The Houston Astros have a major league best seven finalists to start in the 2021 All-Star Game.

The top three finalists for each position based on fan voting in each league, plus designated hitter for the American League, were announced Sunday.

Three teams -- the Los Angeles Dodgers, Chicago Cubs and Toronto Blue Jays -- have five finalists for the Midsummer Classic, which will be played July 13 at Coors Field.

Voting on the finalists begins Monday and ends Thursday. The AL and NL All-Star starters, based on those votes, will be announced Thursday at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. The remainder of the All-Star teams will be unveiled next Sunday at 5:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

The finalists:



  1. Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

  2. Martin Maldonado, Astros

  3. Yasmani Grandal, Chicago White Sox


  1. Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

  2. Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

  3. Willson Contreras, Cubs

First base:


  1. Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Blue Jays

  2. Yuli Gurriel, Astros

  3. Jose Abreu, White Sox


  1. Max Muncy, Dodgers

  2. Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

  3. Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Second base:


  1. Marcus Semien, Blue Jays

  2. Jose Altuve, Astros

  3. DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees


  1. Ozzie Albies, Braves

  2. Adam Frazier, Pittsburgh Pirates

  3. Gavin Lux, Dodgers



  1. Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

  2. Bo Bichette, Blue Jays

  3. Carlos Correa, Astros


  1. Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres

  2. Javier Baez, Cubs

  3. Brandon Crawford, Giants

Third base:


  1. Rafael Devers, Red Sox

  2. Alex Bregman, Astros

  3. Yoan Moncada, White Sox


  1. Kris Bryant, Cubs

  2. Nolan Arenado, Cardinals

  3. Justin Turner, Dodgers



  1. Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

  2. Aaron Judge, Yankees

  3. Byron Buxton, Minnesota Twins

  4. Michael Brantley, Astros

  5. Adolis García, Texas Rangers

  6. Teoscar Hernandez, Blue Jays

  7. Cedric Mullins, Baltimore Orioles

  8. Alex Verdugo, Red Sox

  9. Randal Grichuk, Blue Jays


  1. Ronald Acuna Jr.

  2. Nick Castellanos, Cincinnati Reds

  3. Jesse Winker, Reds

  4. Mookie Betts, Dodgers

  5. Chris Taylor, Dodgers

  6. Juan Soto, Washington Nationals

  7. Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies

  8. Joc Pederson, Cubs

  9. Mike Yastrzemski, Giants

Designated hitter:


  1. Shohei Ohtani, Angels

  2. J.D. Martinez, Red Sox

  3. Yordan Alvarez, Astros