L.A. falls to Texas

DALLAS -- Pau Gasol and "Team Los Angeles" fell in the finals of the NBA All-Star Haier Shooting Stars competition Saturday to Dirk Nowitzki and "Team Texas."

Team L.A., comprised of Gasol, TNT analyst Brent Barry and Marie Ferdinand-Harris of the WNBA's Los Angeles Sparks finished with a final round time of 55.2 seconds. Team Texas finished with a time of 34.3 seconds to win the title in front of the hometown fans.

Gasol had a chance to win the final round with a half-court shot, but his attempt missed off the rim.

Team Los Angeles finished the first round with a time of 1:00. Barry, playing in his old Los Angeles Clippers uniform, and Ferdinand-Harris both made their first shot from the left and right foul line extended, respectively. Gasol went 1-for-5 from 3-point land at the top of the key and then 0-for-3 from half court before Barry hit a halfcourt shot to end the round.

Dave McMenamin covers the Lakers for ESPNLosAngeles.com.