Bryce Cotton, Mitch Creek headline NBL MVP Nominees

The NBL today announced the nominees for the five awards that honour the league's top performers from the 19/20 NBL season ahead of the NBL awards night on Februrary 16.

Last season's MVP Andrew Bogut is once again nominated for the award, alongside teammates Casper Ware and Jae'Sean Tate. The Kings three nominations is tied for most in the league with the biggest surprise packet of the season, Cairns, who see Scott Machado, DJ Newbill and Cam Oliver all receive nominations.

After finishing third in 2019, Bryce Cotton is nominated again, as well as teammate Nick Kay, while Mitch Creek and John Roberson have been rewarded for impressive seasons with NBL newcomers, South East Melbourne Phoenix.

Jerome Randle, Daniel Johnson, Shawn Long, Scott Hopson and Lamar Patterson round out the list of nominees.

Notable absentees include last seasons leading scorer and prized off-season signing Melo Trimble and Melbourne teammate Chris Goulding, who was projected to have a strong season following an impressive World Cup campaign with the Boomers in China.

2018 MVP Bryce Cotton is expected to poll strongly after continuing his impressive form this season for Perth. Taipans guard Scott Machado, who in his first NBL season set a new record for total assists in the 40 minute era, with 204 assists and counting, will be hot on his heels.

Should Bogut win back-to-back trophies, he would become the first player to do so since the awards namesake, Andrew Gaze won five consecutive MVP awards between 1994 and 1998.

The Kings centre also picked up the 2019 Defensive Player of the Year award and has been nominated again alongside teammate Casper Ware, while Cam Oliver and Mitch McCarron will provide some competition.

Next Stars and projected NBA lottery picks, LaMelo Ball and RJ Hampton lead a strong list of eligible players for Rookie of the Year ahead of local young guns Kouat Noi and Angus Glover.

Ball averaged 17ppg 7apg and 7.5apg on 37 percent shooting, but may be held by back his lack of games played before suffering a foot injury and returning home to prepare for the draft. Fellow NBA hopeful Hampton averaged 8.8 apg 2.4 apg and 3.8 rpg on 40 percent shooting for the Breakers.

A breakout season for Dane Pineau has also been recognized with nominations for Most Improved Player as well as a Defensive Player of the year nomination.

The 2020 Andrew Gaze MVP awards will be broadcast live on ESPN from 8.30pm AEDT on February 16.