MetLife Stadium won't bid on next three available CFP title games

For at least the next five years, there will not be a College Football Playoff title game at a cold weather outdoor stadium.

A MetLife Stadium spokesperson told ESPN that New York/New Jersey will not bid on the 2018, 2019 or 2020 college football championship games. Orlando also has decided not to bid on the next three available title games because it is targeting the next cycle of championship games beginning in 2021, sources told ESPN.

Last month, ESPN reported there were still several cities that received RFPs (request for proposal) that were undecided whether to bid on the 2018, 2019 or 2020 title games. The deadline to turn in the CFP's request for proposal for the 2018-20 championship games is late May.

With New York/New Jersey and Orlando not bidding on the next three title games, at least six cities/communities remain undecided: Arlington, Texas; Detroit; Houston; Indianapolis; New Orleans; and Pasadena, California

Sources said seven cities/communities have decided to bid on the 2018-20 title games: Atlanta; Charlotte; Jacksonville, Florida; South Florida; Minneapolis, San Antonio; and Santa Clara, California.

The CFP will announce which cities bid to host the games by the end of May, with the three championship sites expected to be announced in October.

While Orlando is setting its sights on bidding on a college football title game after 2020, it is unknown if New York/New Jersey will pursue a future college football championship. MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, hosted Super Bowl XLVI on Feb. 2, 2014, and was among several cities that received RFPs for the college title game.

The next two title games will be held at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, on Jan. 11, 2016, and Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida, on Jan. 9, 2017.

The 2018 title game will be preceded by semifinal games at the Rose (Pasadena, California) and Sugar (New Orleans) bowls. The 2019 title game will feature semifinals at the Orange (Miami) and Cotton (Arlington, Texas) bowls. And the 2020 title game will have semifinals at the Fiesta (Glendale, Arizona) and Peach (Atlanta) bowls. A bowl may not host the championship game in the same season that it is hosting a semifinal contest.