Liberty select players for Ring of Honor

NEW YORK -- The New York Liberty have selected former stars Teresa Weatherspoon, Vickie Johnson, Kym Hampton and Sue Wicks as the first four players to be inducted into their new Ring of Honor.

The four were selected by a special committee with a fifth player to be chosen in fan voting July 11-22 on the team's website. The candidates for that spot are Rebecca Lobo, Tari Phillips, Crystal Robinson, Tamika Whitmore and Sophia Weatherspoon.

The Liberty will recognize each inductee with a halftime ceremony during a home game at Prudential Center, where the Liberty are playing for the next three seasons while Madison Square Garden undergoes renovations. Johnson will be honored during Friday's game against San Antonio, Weatherspoon on July 17, Wicks on July 28 and Hampton on Aug. 30.