Tim Tebow wins Good Guy Award

Tim Tebow, who arrived in New York with a reputation for being media friendly, was selected as the winner of the 2012 Good Guy Award by the Pro Football Writers of America.

The Good Guy Award is given to a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs. The award was first given by the PFWA in 2005.

Tebow won it for the way he handled the media crush last season, when he led the Broncos to an improbable playoff run and became one of the biggest names in sports.

Tebow, traded to the Jets in March, was cited by numerous national writers for how he handled the attention that came with his play on the field during the 2011 season for Denver.

It won't get any easier in New York, as evidenced by his introductory news conference. It drew more than 200 media types.

Previous Good Guy winners include:

2005: Jerome Bettis (Steelers)

2006: Tiki Barber (Giants)

2007: LaDainian Tomlinson (Chargers)

2008: Brett Favre (Packers)

2009: Kurt Warner (Cardinals)

2010: Drew Brees (Saints)

2011: Aaron Rodgers (Packers)