John Elway wins PFWA's Horrigan Award

John Elway has won the Horrigan Award from the Professional Football Writers of America as the league or club official who best helps the writers do their job.

Denver's vice president of football operations and general manager has used a candid and open media policy while building a Super Bowl champion.

Elway, a Hall of Fame quarterback, is the third member of the Broncos to receive the honor from the PFWA, joining Floyd Little (1976) and Bob Peck (1978).

The award is named for Jack Horrigan, a sportswriter for UPI and the Buffalo Evening News, public relations director for the American Football League (1963-66), and vice president of public relations for the Buffalo Bills (1966-73).

Other 2016 nominees for the Horrigan Award were Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones; NFL Network analyst Mike Mayock; NFL vice president of communications Brian McCarthy; and Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera.