Indianapolis Colts lead way with NFL-best seven Pro Bowl selections

The Indianapolis Colts led the NFL with seven Pro Bowl selections as the league announced this year's teams Wednesday.

The Colts had three players selected on offense (running back Jonathan Taylor, center Ryan Kelly, guard Quenton Nelson), three on defense (defensive tackle DeForest Buckner, linebacker Darius Leonard, cornerback Kenny Moore II) and one on special teams (long snapper Luke Rhodes).

The seven Pro Bowl selections is the Colts' most since the 2014 season, when they also had seven.

The Kansas City Chiefs and Los Angeles Chargers were next with six selections each. Each team will be represented by its quarterback, Patrick Mahomes for the Chiefs and Justin Herbert for the Chargers. The other AFC quarterback is Lamar Jackson of the Baltimore Ravens. Herbert is the starter.

Mahomes, 26, is the fourth quarterback in NFL history to have four Pro Bowl selections at age 26 or younger, joining Dan Marino, Bob Griese and Joe Namath.

The Dallas Cowboys, Tampa Bay Buccaneers and San Francisco 49ers had the most players selected among NFC teams with five apiece. The NFC quarterbacks are starter Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers, Tom Brady of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Kyler Murray of the Arizona Cardinals. It's Brady's 15th Pro Bowl selection and the 10th for Rodgers.

This season's game will be played Feb. 6 in Las Vegas for the first time. Rosters are determined by a vote of the fans, players and coaches.

Thirty-one players were selected to their first Pro Bowl, including four rookies: Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase, Atlanta Falcons tight end Kyle Pitts, Chargers offensive tackle Rashawn Slater and Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons. Chase is the first Bengals rookie to be named to a Pro Bowl since Andy Dalton and A.J. Green in 2011.

Six teams had zero players selected: the Denver Broncos, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, New York Giants and New York Jets.

2022 Pro Bowl rosters
(* denotes starter)


Quarterbacks: *Justin Herbert, L.A. Chargers; Lamar Jackson, Baltimore; Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City

Wide receivers: Keenan Allen, L.A. Chargers; *Ja'Marr Chase, Cincinnati; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; *Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

Running backs: Nick Chubb, Cleveland; Joe Mixon, Cincinnati; *Jonathan Taylor, Indianapolis

Fullback: *Patrick Ricard, Baltimore

Tight ends: *Mark Andrews, Baltimore; Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Tackles: *Orlando Brown Jr., Kansas City; Dion Dawkins, Buffalo; *Rashawn Slater, L.A. Chargers

Guards: *Joel Bitonio, Cleveland; *Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis; Wyatt Teller, Cleveland

Centers: Ryan Kelly, Indianapolis; *Corey Linsley, L.A. Chargers

Defensive ends: *Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas; *Myles Garrett, Cleveland; Trey Hendrickson, Cincinnati

Interior linemen: *DeForest Buckner, Indianapolis; Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh; *Chris Jones, Kansas City

Outside linebackers: *Joey Bosa, L.A. Chargers; Matthew Judon, New England; *T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh

Inside/middle linebackers: *Darius Leonard, Indianapolis; Denzel Perryman, Las Vegas

Cornerbacks: *Xavien Howard, Miami; *J.C. Jackson, New England; Kenny Moore, Indianapolis; Denzel Ward, Cleveland

Free safety: *Kevin Byard, Tennessee

Strong safeties: *Derwin James, L.A. Chargers; Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City

Punter: *AJ Cole, Las Vegas

Placekicker: *Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Long snapper: *Luke Rhodes, Indianapolis

Return specialist: *Devin Duvernay, Baltimore

Special teamer: *Matthew Slater, New England


Quarterbacks: Tom Brady, Tampa Bay; Kyler Murray, Arizona; *Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay

Wide receivers: *Davante Adams, Green Bay; Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; *Cooper Kupp, L.A. Rams; Deebo Samuel, San Francisco

Running backs: Alvin Kamara, New Orleans; James Conner, Arizona; *Dalvin Cook, Minnesota

Fullback: *Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco

Tight ends: *George Kittle, San Francisco; Kyle Pitts, Atlanta

Tackles: Tyron Smith, Dallas; *Trent Williams, San Francisco; *Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay

Guards: Ali Marpet, Tampa Bay; *Zack Martin, Dallas; *Brandon Scherff, Washington

Centers: Ryan Jensen, Tampa Bay; *Jason Kelce, Philadelphia

Defensive ends: *Nick Bosa, San Francisco; *Brian Burns, Carolina; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans

Interior linemen: *Jonathan Allen, Washington; Kenny Clark, Green Bay; *Aaron Donald, L.A. Rams

Outside linebackers: Shaquil Barrett, Tampa Bay; *Chandler Jones, Arizona; *Robert Quinn, Chicago

Inside/middle linebackers: *Micah Parsons, Dallas; Bobby Wagner, Seattle

Cornerbacks: *Trevon Diggs, Dallas; Marshon Lattimore, New Orleans; *Jalen Ramsey, L.A. Rams; Darius Slay, Philadelphia

Free safety: *Quandre Diggs, Seattle

Strong safeties: *Budda Baker, Arizona; Harrison Smith, Minnesota

Punter: *Bryan Anger, Dallas

Placekicker: *Matt Gay, L.A. Rams

Long snapper: *Josh Harris, Atlanta

Return specialist: *Jakeem Grant Sr., Chicago

Special teamer: *J.T. Gray, New Orleans