St. Louis, Tortorella, Richards win awards

TORONTO -- The Tampa Bay Lightning have a few more awards to go with their Stanley Cup.

Tampa Bay coach John Tortorella won coach of the year, Brad Richards was saluted as most gentlemanly player and Martin St. Louis took home the biggest prize as league MVP at the NHL awards banquet Thursday night.

St. Louis also was presented with the Art Ross Trophy as scoring
champion and, earlier in the day, he won the Lester B. Pearson
Award as most outstanding player as selected by his peers.

"It's going to be a tough year to top," said St. Louis, who
became the first player since Wayne Gretzky in 1987 to win the
Hart, Ross and Stanley Cup in the same season.

He's only the eighth player in NHL history to complete the triple.

Tampa Bay beat Calgary in Game 7 of the finals on Monday.

"I don't know if it means I'm the best player in the NHL," St.
Louis said. "There are a lot of great players and to be considered
among them is very flattering."

It wasn't even close: St. Louis was first on 97 of 105 ballots
and amassed 1,016 points, while runner-up Jarome Iginla of the
Calgary Flames was second with two firsts and 253 points.

"We've got a lot of guys on our team who deserve credit," said
St. Louis, a 5-foot-8 dynamo who was one of the smallest men ever
to win the scoring title. "You can't do all this with just two or
three guys."

He beat out Colorado captain Joe Sakic and Florida goalie
Roberto Luongo for the Pearson. Sakic was the last player (2001)
before St. Louis to win the Pearson and the Hart in the same year.

Tortorella was the first U.S.-born coach to win the Adams Award.
San Jose's Ron Wilson was second and Calgary's Darryl Sutter was
third in the voting.

Actor Russell Crowe read out Richards' name as the winner of the
Lady Byng Trophy. Richards spent only 12 minutes in penalty boxes
last season. Ottawa's Daniel Alfredsson was runnerup.

New Jersey's Brodeur was named best goalie for the second year
in a row. Fifteen of the 30 NHL general managers picked Brodeur for
the Vezina Trophy. Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff was runnerup.

"I've got to hold onto these two because it's going to be hard
to win any more with all the good young goalies coming up," Brodeur said.

Brodeur earned $1.2 million in bonuses Thursday: $500,000 for being selected to the NHL All-Star first team, $400,000 for winning the Vezina, and $300,000 for finishing third in the Hart Trophy voting.

Devils teammate Scott Niedermayer won the Norris Trophy as best defenseman, amassing 872 points and getting 72 first-place votes. Ottawa's Zdeno Chara was second with 563 points and 19 first-place votes.

"This is pretty new to me," Niedermayer said. "Lots of people
would say, 'Hey, you've got a good chance to win.' But I didn't
expect to have to get out of my seat and make a speech.

Niedermayer earned $500,000 for winning the award and another $500,000 for being selected to the NHL All-Star first team.

Kris Draper of the Detroit Red Wings, who anchored the league's
best penalty-killing unit and also had a career-best 40 points, won
the Selke Trophy for best defensive forward.

"I'm in some unbelievable company in winning the Selke
Trophy," he said. "Everything I've always done is team oriented
and it's going to continue to be that way but to be singled out as
the Selke winner is really special."

Draper got 66 first-place votes and 839 points. John Madden of
the Devils was a distant second with 368 points.

Boston's Andrew Raycroft won the Calder Trophy as top rookie
after getting 93 of the 105 available first-place votes.

He went 14-6-3 in his last 23 games to lift the Bruins to first
place in the Northeast Division. Montreal Canadiens forward Michael Ryder was second with 11 first-place votes.

Iginla was given the Rocket Richard Trophy as the league's
leading goal scoring along with Rick Nash of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Ilya Kovalchuk of the Atlanta Thrashers. All three
scored 41 times.

Iginla was also handed the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for
leadership on and off the ice.

Information from The Associated Press and ESPN The Magazine's E.J. Hradek was used in this report.