Masterton trophy finalists named

NEW YORK -- Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Kurtis Foster, San Jose Sharks forward Jed Ortmeyer and Washington Capitals goalie Jose Theodore are the finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The award is given to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The finalists were named Monday.

Foster had career bests of 71 games, 34 assists and 42 points, after returning from a broken leg.

Ortmeyer must inject a blood thinner into his stomach each day to combat a hereditary blood-clotting disorder. He had 19 points in 76 games.

Theodore created Saves for Kids, which benefits the neonatal intensive care unit of the hospital where his son, who died last summer, spent his 54-day life.

The winner will be named June 23 at the NHL awards show in Las Vegas.