Ray Emery among Masterton finalists

Anaheim's Ray Emery, Calgary's Daymond Langkow and Philadelphia's Ian Laperriere are this year's finalists for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, the NHL announced Tuesday.

The award, named for the Minnesota North Stars player who died in 1968 after a head-first fall on the ice, is given to the player "who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey."

Emery returned to the NHL with the Ducks this season after recovering from April 2010 surgery for a right hip injury that required a bone graft. Called up late in the season, he went 7-2-0 with a 2.28 goals-against average and .926 save percentage down the stretch to help the Ducks make the playoffs.

Langkow, who suffered a fractured vertebra after being struck by a slap shot late last season, returned to the Flames' lineup on April 1 and played in the team's last four games.

Laperriere, who suffered facial injuries and eye damage after blocking a shot during last year's playoffs, has not played for the Flyers this season. But he has remained a constant presence with the team, helping run drills and doing community relations and scouting work.

The winner will be announced at the NHL awards ceremony June 22 in Las Vegas.