Spain wins 2nd straight women's EuroBasket title

Spain repeated as Women's EuroBasket champion, beating France 86-66 in Belgrade, Serbia, on Sunday. It was Spain's fourth title overall in the biennial event, as the Spaniards previously won in 1993, 2013 and 2017. Spain is the first country to win this title back-to-back since the Soviet Union's run of 17 championships in a row from 1960 to 1991.

Marta Xargay led the Spaniards with 23 points. Teammate Astou Ndour had four points Sunday but averaged 14.8 for the tournament and was named MVP. Both previously have competed in the WNBA.

New York Liberty guard Bria Hartley, a former UConn standout, had 17 points and four assists for France. Hartley is among several current WNBA players who will be headed back to their teams now that EuroBasket has concluded.

Former WNBA player Sandrine Gruda, who was part of the Los Angeles Sparks' 2016 WNBA championship team, led France with 18 points.

With their results at EuroBasket, Spain, France, Serbia, Great Britain, Sweden and Belgium earned the right to represent Europe in the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments for the 2020 Tokyo Games.