Americans out front early en route to World Cup title

TAIPEI, Taiwan -- The United States won baseball's World Cup
for the first time since 1974, ending Cuba's streak of nine
straight titles with a 6-3 victory Sunday as Jayson Nix and
Jason Jaramillo drove in two runs each.

U.S. starter Brian Duensing, a Minnesota Twins' prospect, was
backed by a 5-0 lead but was chased when Alfredo Rodriguez hit a
two-run single with two outs in the fifth.

The Angels' Steven Shell (1-0) followed with hitless relief
until Yulesky Gourriel doubled with two outs in the eighth and
scored on Alexander Mayeta's single.

Oakland's Jerry Blevins got the final out of the eighth and
retired the leadoff batter in the ninth, then U.S. manager Davey
Johnson brought in Cleveland's Jeff Stevens for the final two outs.

The Los Angeles Dodgers' Delwyn Young, Tampa Bay's
Justin Ruggiano and Philadelphia's Jaramillo put the Americans ahead with consecutive singles in the second, chasing Yadel Marti after 1 1/3 innings. Norberto Gonzalez relieved and walked St. Louis'
Colby Rasmus and Colorado's Nix with the bases loaded, giving the United States a 3-0 lead.

Jaramillo doubled in a run in the fourth, and Nix homered
leading off the fifth to make it 5-0. Ruggiano added an RBI single
in the seventh.