2018 World Series of Poker schedule includes 78 events, return of $1 million Big One for One Drop

Scott Blumstein won the 2017 World Series of Poker main event. AP Photo/John Locher

The World Series of Poker returns to Las Vegas' Rio All Suite Hotel & Casino for the 49th edition of poker's most famous tournament series. Between May 30 and July 17, a record 78 WSOP gold bracelets will be on the line with buy-ins ranging from $365 all the way up to $1 million in a wide variety of games and disciplines.

Poker's premier event, the main event, takes place from July 2-14. The $10,000 no-limit hold'em tournament will be broadcast on ESPN, ESPN2 and the PokerGo subscription streaming service. The defending champion, Scott Blumstein, outlasted a field of 7,221 players to win $8.15 million in 2017.

The $1 million Big One for One Drop returns to the WSOP in Las Vegas for the first time in four years, as the closing event of the series. Past champions include Antonio Esfandiari, Daniel Colman and Elton Tsang. The fourth edition of this tournament will be capped at 48 players, and will also air live on ESPN and Poker Go through its conclusion on July 17.

Here's what the rest of the schedule looks like: